

State of Connecticut

STATE CAPITOL HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06106-1591

June 30, 2008

Dear Legislator:

In the 2007 legislative session, the Connecticut legislature passed landmark healthcare legislation. In addition to other accomplishments, this legislation created two healthcare Authorities to make recommendations on how to improve access to healthcare in Connecticut.

The HealthFirst Authority was charged with:

- Examining and evaluating different alternatives for providing Connecticut residents with quality, affordable, and sustainable health care;
- Recommending ways to contain the cost and improve the quality of health care; and
- Recommending ways to finance quality, affordable health care coverage.

The State-Wide Primary Care Access Authority was charged with:

- Making an inventory of the state's existing primary care infrastructure;
- Developing a universal system to provide primary care services to state residents;
- Developing a plan for implementing the system.

These Authorities have been meeting for almost one year now, and we have been impressed by the work put in by all the members of the Authorities, which have been led by their co-chairs, Margaret Flinter of Community Health Center, Inc. and Tom Swan of the Connecticut Citizen Action Group. Many diverse viewpoints and perspectives are represented by the members of the Authorities, and we eagerly await the recommendations the Authorities will be making at the end of this year.

In the meantime, we encourage you to become involved in the process by reading the minutes of the Authority meetings (available on the website of the Public Health Committee), attending these meetings if possible, and participating to the degree that you are able. We are optimistic that these Authorities will provide us with thoughtful recommendations on steps we can take next during the next legislative session.

Please contact Joe Goldman, Clerk of the Public Health Committee, if you have questions about the Authorities' work thus far or how to become involved.

Sincerely,

Senator Donald E. Williams, Jr. Senate President Pro Tempore

Martin Zoorey

Senator Martin M. Looney Senate Majority Leader

Representative James A. Amman Speaker of the House

ţ

Representative Christopher G. Donovan House Majority Leader